Online Computer Tips Home
Home All Tips OCT Newsletter Free Tutorials Tech News Resources
Home > All Tips > Microsoft Windows

How do I disable the cleanup unused desktop icons notification? - Common Computer Questions

Question: How do I disable the cleanup unused desktop icons notification?

Answer: The Desktop Cleanup Wizard is used to help you cleanup any unused desktop icons that haven’t been used in a while. This is one of those situations where Windows thinks it knows what’s best for you and tries to help you out. You may not want Windows suggesting what icons it thinks you should and should not keep on your desktop. This is very easy to disable and only takes a few steps. Right click on your desktop and choose Properties. Then go to the Desktop tab and click on the Customize Desktop button. From there you will be on the General tab and uncheck the box that says Run Desktop Cleanup Wizard every 60 days and click Ok.

 



Navigate: Computer Help > All Q & A > Windows Questions > Common Computer Questions

 

BROWSE PC HELP INFORMATION
Computer Categories:
 - PC Troubleshooting
 - Networking
 - Windows
 - Microsoft Office
 - Spyware
 - Virus
 - Hardware
 - Software
Learn More:
 - Computer Tutorials
 - Video Tutorials

 - Networking Terms
 - Hardware Terms
 - Virus Terms

Visitor Questions:
 - Free Tech Help
 - Q & A Archive
 - Common Questions
OCT Newsletter
OCT Tech Blog
JOIN US ON GOOGLE+
JOIN US ON FACEBOOK
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER
Get insights into the computer industry and regular updates on our site. Click Here
 
CHECK US OUT ON YOUTUBE

New tech tip videos posted on a regular basis. Subscribe today! Click Here

Back To The Top

Copyright © 2005-2015 Online Computer Tips.com
HOME | ALL TIPS | COMPUTER TUTORIALS | TECH NEWS | RESOURCES | ADVERTISING | ABOUT US | PRIVACY POLICY
Home All Tips OCT Newsletter Free Tutorials Tech News Resources